Lazy Days and Frogs

I have been rather lazy this weekend. I tried to do some things yesterday, but just haven’t had much motivation. I guess that is what weekends are for. I did get some laundry done, and should hopefully finish it up today. (Thank you heat advisories for making outdoor clothes drying much quicker than normal).

I have been reading a lot of blogs lately. It is something I find very entertaining and enjoyable. I like to read about people like myself: people who are constantly working a new project, trying to get out of debt, making goals for themselves, etc. It makes me feel a bit less on my own in my endeavors. I have 63 blogs in my Google Reader and that seems to be a good amount for me.

Don’t get me wrong, there are times I do not read word-for-word every post that someone puts up. I tend to skim unless it is something that I really can learn from, relate to, or just enjoy. There are a few blogs that do read word-for-word when they post, but they are few and far between.

I found myself reading more personal finance and getting-out-of-debt blogs lately. I guess I need to know I am not on my own and am not the only one struggling with it. I am tired of being surrounded by ads and people around me not caring about a budget or having to worry about money. One day, I hope that I will not have to be as stringent on the budget, but for now I feel I am the only one who does.

I realize that it is taboo to talk about money for some reason. And I know that plays into why I feel alone. Other people are not going to jump up and share their money struggles with me, and I don’t blame them. There is a stigma that is placed on you if you struggle with money or have to be on a budget. I realize that the majority of Americans are in debt, and quite a few Americans are on a budget, but that doesn’t make the stigma go away.

Anyways, that is what has been floating around my head lately. I am hoping that Monday will help me get out of this funk a bit. (I also hope the temps will cool off a bit and I can spend more time outside… that always helps my mood).

Here is my picture from yesterday. For those who don’t know, in addition to our two dogs, we also have two frogs living with us. They are my classroom pets and we raised them from tadpoles last year. My plan was to get a picture of them eating their meal worms, but they were just too fast! So, I opted for a couple pictures of one just hanging out. My picture is a bit blurry because it was taken through the glass of their terrarium and it is a little on the dirty side. You would think the frogs would take a bit more pride in where they live and do a bit of cleaning 🙂
This picture is not blurry because I opened the lid of the terrarium and took a picture from the top. He is up against the edge of the glass staring out. That pinkish thing behind him is the water bowl. I find them hanging out in there often to keep their skin wet. The worm looking thing in the water bowl is a dead meal worm. The meal worms like to get in and then they drown. The frogs will not eat the dead meal worms, so I end up cleaning out the water bowl about once a week and giving them fresh, meal worm-free water.

One thought on “Lazy Days and Frogs

Leave a Reply

