Welcome Cards

I am thisclose to being finished with my welcome cards for my first grade friends. I had two more left and then ran out of ribbon. Unfortunately that means a trip to Michael’s. This will be a big test in willpower. I love Michael’s and could spend millions there. But all I need is ribbon… RED ribbon, nothing else.

When I started these cards, I thought it was a great idea. Now, I realize how crazy I am. These are definitely multi-step cards, but I LOVE them! I think my little friends will enjoy them too.

I mean, who wouldn’t want to get a card from their teacher before school started? We used to get a call from our teacher to find out what class we were going to be in, but nowadays our school just posts a list on the front door. No fun!

And now…. drumroll… here they are! (sans 2 without ribbon).


Just to give you an idea of what all this took…
I had to cut all the pieces: the brown background, the colored boxes, the white box that the colored boxes are on, the small strip at the bottom.
I had to stamp everything letter by letter: The 1st grade part, all the big alphabet letters, the welcome, the red circles.
I had to punch the 4 holes in each card (4 x 21 cards = 84 holes punched).
I had to lace all the ribbon through the 4 holes.
I had to glue everything all together.

You know what, though? I loved every minute of it. I loved thinking about how excited each child would be to get a piece of mail. I loved thinking about each parent reading the card to their child (or those few children who could read it themselves). I loved thinking about the few children (or parents) who may keep the card for them to look back at in years to come.

That is what makes it worth all the time and effort.

On the PF side of things, besides the red ribbon that I have to buy, I already had all the supplies for these cards. I did not have to buy anything extra in order to create all 21 of the cards. If I look at it that way, these are relatively frugal cards. If I think about how much I spent at some point on all of the supplies, maybe they aren’t as frugal as I would like.

Considering I already had all the supplies, that makes them a sunk cost. The money was already spent, and I couldn’t get it back. Therefore, I am going with the thinking that these were more frugal than going out to the store to buy cards for my little ones. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Welcome Cards

Leave a Reply

