10 Years Ago…

I was a senior in high school in Tennessee. I had stopped at my locker after my second period class. My friend Kim, who had a locker next to mine, came up to me and said…

…A bomb has gone off at the World Trade Center.

The information had already gotten twisted but was traveling fast in the hallways. I can’t lie… I didn’t know much about the World Trade Center. I didn’t know where it was or why it was important. I shrugged off the information that Kim had told me and proceeded to my 3rd period class.

3rd period was color guard, which took place in the band room. As soon as I walked in, I knew something more was wrong. The big screen TV in the band room was on, and most of the girls were already huddle around it watching. Our band director allowed us to sit and watch history unfold, instead of making us practice.

We saw the second plane hit and both towers fall during that hour we spent together.

Our lives had changed.

I don’t know if we truly knew what this meant for our country, or if we were aware of what was really happening.

I wanted to call my dad, but his job involved trading commodities and futures, so I didn’t know how this was impacting him. Mr. Smith, the band director allowed us to use his phone or our cell phones if we had them to call our parents if we wished. I called my mom just to hear her talk. I knew she was at Bible study and that she was safe, but I needed the reassurance of her.

Even though I was 17 years old, I reached out to my mom in order to feel safe in that moment.

Sitting on my couch today and thinking back to how the world has changed in the past 10 years, I know there are many days that have already been wiped from my memory. Many monotonous days that I should truly be happy for. Monotonous days mean security and safety. I may never remember those days, but 10 years ago today will forever be etched in my memory.

We are forever indebted to the men and women who have given their lives and continue to serve in order to ensure our safety each day.

Early this morning I went to our local college town and visited the Dole Institute for Politics. This building always reminds me of patriotism, and I knew I wanted to get some special photos for this important day.


Leave a Reply

