Lazy vs. Relaxing

This weekend I had a to-do list of about 10 things. I got through about 5 of them because some of my first grade stuff took longer than I expected. Whenever something like this happens, I think back to what I did over the weekend and struggle with the idea that I was being lazy.

For instance, on Saturday I woke up, took Rose for a walk, then watched a few DVRed shows. I then cleaned the kitchen, went to the grocery store, and did homework for about 4 hours. I keep having an internal struggle with the fact that I spent about two hours catching up on shows from during the week. I hate feeling as though I was lazy, but I realize that I can’t work 16 hours straight and sleep the other 8. I know I need down time, which is very rare these days between first grade work and Masters class work.

No matter how busy I am during the week, or how tired I am from working, I feel as though I should do more with my days and get more done. Now, I realize this is not practical or realistic, but I can’t fight the feeling that I am too lazy. Does anyone else have this internal struggle or is it just me?

I think it may go along with being a resolutionist. I always feel as though there are things to improve on or do or get done, therefore I should never slow down or relax. Anyone know how to cope or deal with this? Or better yet, does anyone have any money that they would like to give me so I can hire a maid and cook? That may cut down on my list of things to-do.

I did manage to get outside today to take some pictures. I am learning to love fall. Growing up, summer was always my favorite season. I love hot weather. As I matured, I fell in love with spring and the newness that comes with it. Now I am really enjoying fall. I love the colors and the briskness of the morning air. I don’t know if I will ever love winter, but maybe some day I will.

Anyway, here are my fall-inspired pictures. Enjoy!





Leave a Reply

