Weekend’s Not Over!

I love three-day weekends! It’s Sunday night. I’m snuggled on the couch and don’t have to worry about getting up early tomorrow for work. It is fantastic!

Another great thing about today is that it was a no-spend day! I meant to stop at the store and get a newspaper for the coupons, but by the time I remembered, it was too late. I figured I could manage a week without them.

Another great thing about today is that I got my refund check from my college. When I figure out how much I want for a loan, I usually tack on about $100 to make sure that my books are covered. The check is for $114, and my books cost about half of that. This covers my books, and gives us a little extra to throw back into our emergency fund.

Today has been a good day. I spent the morning getting some things done for work. I also got the downstairs vacuumed and hope to vacuum the upstairs tomorrow. This afternoon I went to my parents’ house, and Mom and I took the dogs for a long hike. I only had Rose with me, but she seems quite worn out now (woo-hoo!). Now Hubs and I are snuggled on the couch with the pups watching the Golden Globes. It has been a nice day.

Tomorrow will not be a no-spend. I have to go grocery shopping and fill up the cars. If I fill up the cars tomorrow, then we will hopefully have no-spend days on Wednesday and Thursday. I have a bill that is supposed to come out on Tuesday, so that won’t be a no-spend.

The one thing I have noticed during this no (low) spend challenge is that I really don’t do much impulse shopping. I also realize that I have bills come out of our account on so many different days that it makes no-spend days much more difficult than I thought. For February, I think I may need to completely define what a no-spend day is. For now I will stick to my definition of no-spending, no matter what.

How is your no (low) spend challenge going?

One thought on “Weekend’s Not Over!

  1. Sounds like a great day! 🙂 A no-spend day for me is simply not spending any "variable" money from our budget. Fixed expenses are just that, so I don't count them in my no-spends.

Leave a Reply

