February Challenges

February is right around the corner. I am not sure how it got here so quickly, but I am not complaining. As I have mentioned before, Carla is having not one, but two challenges for February! She was the one who hosted the No (Low) Spend January challenge (which did not turn out so well for me– I will do a full recap in a day or so).

For February the challenges are a declutter challenge and another low (no) spend challenge. I am partaking in both of them.

For the decluttering challenge, there are four main areas of decluttering (one for each week). I will be posting before and after photos for each challenge, so be looking for them at the end of each week!Here are my specific goals for each week in February:

Week 1: Personal Space Challenge
My personal space challenge is actually going to be a work-place challenge. My goal is to declutter the back counter in my classroom as well as my desk. When I declutter my desk, that means my drawers and everything on my desk. It is a disaster right now!

Week 2: Family Space Challenge
I did a lot of decluttering at the beginning of January, so I don’t feel like there are many places in the house that really need decluttered. The one place that does need help is where I organize all of the bills, receipts, mail, etc. It is on our kitchen counter and is a bit of a mess all the time. It isn’t terrible, but it drives me a little crazy whenever I look at it.

Week 3: Productivity Challenge
I think this is the challenge I am most looking forward to. I always want to improve my productivity, so this will be a great way to start! There will be two parts to this challenge. The first part of the challenge will be to make lunches for Hubs and I the night before. I always make our lunches, but I do it the morning of work, but it takes more time than I want.
The second part of this challenge is to use up what we have in our house. I went grocery shopping today and as I was putting stuff away, I realized that we have a lot of stuff. I need to start using it instead of just letting it hang out in our pantry.

Week 4: The “Dreaded” Challenge
For this week, I will attempt to organize and declutter the garage. Now, this is going to depend quite a bit on the weather. If the temp is too cold, then I am not forcing myself to be in the garage and freeze while trying to declutter. This is going to take a long time and be hard work, but I have put it off long enough.
*If it is too cold, then my “dreaded” challenge will be the kitchen. It isn’t terrible, but it definitely needs decluttered more often than I admit to.

My low (no) spend challenge for February is one that I have read about before from somewhere. Each time I go to the grocery store (or any store) and use my savings card or coupons, I will take the amount that I saved and transfer it into my savings account. I know it won’t be much each week, but I am hoping to save an extra $20-$50 for the month of February. I may put a counter in the sidebar to track this. If it goes well, then I may keep it up for the rest of the year and see where we end up!

My other financial challenge for February is to pay off the rest of the medical bills from the miscarriage. It will be steep (and it has ended up being more than I have budgeted), and I will probably have to cut back my normal amount to the credit card, but I want them to be done with sooner rather than later.

Let me know if you are interested in joining one or both of the challenges! Carla is linking everyone on her website. Don’t worry, you don’t have to have a blog to join! Just comment now to join, and then with each check-in you can comment on your progress!

2 thoughts on “February Challenges

  1. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

