An Ode to Miss Blue

I had the chance to spend some time outside on this lovely day with a very dear lady in my life. She isn’t fancy. She is rather frugal. She loves driving with the windows down. Some people may even call her “old.” I call her Miss Blue.

Getting a car is a rite of passage in the United States. Every 16 year old looks forward to having that set of keys of their own. I was fortunate enough to have parents who took care of this rite of passage for me (and my brother and sister). When I turned 16 I got my very first vehicle: a 2002 Dodge Ram, because I wanted a pick-up truck. (Come on, I am originally a southerner.) And this truck was a beaut! She was silver and shimmered in the sunlight. She was so big I almost had to jump to get in her. She was perfect, until…

After a while my dad thought it would be better if I drove his car to school, and he drove my truck. My dad drove a nice, sporty little car, so as a 16 year old I did not argue. He decided this because his trek to work was much longer than mine to school. His car was getting older, and he wanted to keep the mileage on it as low as possible. So we switched cars, until…

My dad wrecked my truck (legally his truck because his name was on the title). I was devastated. The twist of fate in this story is that the wreck he was in was so bad, that there is a chance he may not have walked away from it if he would have been in his car. I was sad about my truck, but very grateful that my dad was safe. At this point my dad decided to take back his car (since he had to get to work), and I was left without any vehicle, until…

We got this lovely lady.

A 2002 Toyota Corolla. I was with my parents when they bought her from the dealership (No loans… Way to go Mom and Dad!!). I was too nervous to drive her home, so my dad drove her. I think her original mileage was around 34 or 36 miles.

She currently has over 120,000 miles on her, and doesn’t have the smoothest or quietest ride, but she does what she should. She was with me when I graduated from high school in the spring of 2002. She was how I got to college in the fall of 2002. She drove me back and forth each summer, winter break, and spring break until about 2010 (500 mile trip each way). She was with me during each and every boyfriend, until my last one who became my husband. She was the car that drove both dogs home for the first time. Barring anything happening to her, we hope she will be with us for our first child. She has been through a lot with me, and I still love her dearly.

She doesn’t know the Joneses. If she did, I don’t think she would like them very much. I don’t think they would like her. She probably isn’t fancy enough for them. She doesn’t come with a car payment, which the Joneses seem to like so much.

Today, though, I took some time to spend just with her. Like any girl, I pampered her a bit. She got a good scrubbing and a nice bath. I think it made her feel young again.

Happy 10 years together!
Isn’t she lovely?

Photobucket

2 thoughts on “An Ode to Miss Blue

  1. Love your lady in blue!! My car is a 2003 with 190,000 miles and I too love her dearly!! Whats not to love when a car gets you were you need to go and no car payment.

Leave a Reply

