15 Week Bump Report

One blog that I really enjoy reading is Ramblings and Photos by Ashley Sisk.  She is currently about 29 weeks pregnant and every once in a while she does a bump report.  I love the format of her reports, and think I am going to do something similar.  In her reports she answers the same questions so you can follow how things have changed.


Tonight Hubs took the first of our pregnancy photos today.  Maybe I can teach him a bit about the camera while we go on this journey of weekly photos.  Please excuse my hair in the photo.  I threw it in a ponytail this morning, and it was very windy so it’s a little crazy!

And here’s the official bump report:

How Far Along?  15 weeks (officially 15 weeks and 2 days)

How big is the baby?  The little nugget is about 4 inches crown to rump and weighs about 2 1/2 ounces.  That means he/she weighs about the same as an apple!  

Total weight gain?  I will know this tomorrow.  We do not own a scale in our house, so I don’t keep up with it.  At my last appointment about a month ago I had only gained about 2 pounds.  I am sure I have gained more than that now.  I thought I had gained more than 2 at my last appointment, so I am anxious to see how much I have gained now.

Sleep?  Sleep has been ok.  I usually wake up in the middle of the night to eat something, but I have noticed that has tapered off a bit lately.  I can’t sleep on my stomach comfortably anymore.  This is terrible because I have always been a stomach sleeper.  

Maternity Clothes?  I had some maternity clothes from the last pregnancy, but they are all pretty much cold weather clothes.  I have two pairs of jeans that I wore constantly the last few weeks of school.  The clothes in my picture today are not maternity clothes.  I am able to fit into bottoms that are low waisted or were big before.  I can still fit in most of my tops, although I notice some of the regular shirts are getting a bit short.  With school being out I am not planning on really buying any summer maternity clothes unless I need them for a specific event.  Just be ready for a lot of pictures in athletic shorts and t-shirts.

A View From Above

Best Moments of the Week?  This didn’t happen this week, but last week I noticed one of my first grade girls really watching my tummy as we were walking down the hall.  She finally said “Your belly is really getting bigger.”  I told her that yes it had gotten bigger and was only going to get bigger as time went on.  

I wouldn’t really call this a best moment of the week, but it made me laugh.  Hubs let me know today that my tummy is officially sticking out farther than my boobs.  Isn’t he so helpful?

Food Cravings?  No real cravings that I have noticed.  Some things sound better than others, but I haven’t needed something so much that I had to immediately leave home to go get it.

Food Aversions?  These have subsided for the most part now.  They were really bad during the first trimester, but nothing really grosses me out too much right now.  I do still have a bit of trouble with the smell of peanut butter.


Symptoms?  For the most part morning sickness has gone away.  I haven’t felt any movements either… that I am aware of.  It is still early and my midwife told me that I probably wouldn’t feel anything at this point, so I shouldn’t worry.  I am anxious to start feeling some kicking and moving.  
I am sure everyone wants to know, but I have noticed some dark hair on my tummy.  I am going to ask my midwife if Nair on the tummy is safe.  If not, then it looks like I will need to shop for a one piece swim suit for the summer.  

Exercise?  Nonexistent at this point.  I plan to start walking in the mornings once summer really settles in, and I get into a routine.  I plan to walk either by myself or just with Bandit.  I don’t think I could handle Rose if she saw something to run after… she is a big dog, and I am not a big person.

Movement?  None yet, but hopefully in the next couple weeks!

Next Appointment?  Tomorrow.  I think it’s going to be a boring one… blood pressure, weight, and pee in a cup.  

And here is just a fun picture of my Hosta.  It is about to bloom, and there is another bud down at the base that will grow like this one.  This Hosta puts out pretty light purple flowers.  I am so happy it came back!  This morning when I watered it, I saw two baby praying mantises in the pot.  So cute!


Photobucket


3 thoughts on “15 Week Bump Report

  1. AWWWWWW, what a great looking baby bump!!!!! This is going to be so fun following along with the arrival of your sweet little baby. Take care of you and DO buy a few things for yourselfexpecting Mommy's are special

  2. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

