Sunday Night Chit Chat

This picture is from a field of flags that Hubs took me to today.  For those of us in America tomorrow is Memorial Day.  Most people use it as a day to catch up with friends and family and spend some time barbequing.  The reason for Memorial Day though is to remember all of those who have fought and died for our country.  Both of my grandfathers are war veterans.  My paternal grandfather is still living, but my maternal grandfather died about 4 or 5 years ago.  Walking through the rows of flags I was overcome with emotion.  Thinking about what some families have gone through really made me stop and think.  I broke down in tears at one point, but was able to dry my eyes enough to take some pictures.  The picture above is my favorite from today.


Now for the fun part of the post… Sunday night chit chat hosted by Carla!


Feel free to fill in the blanks on your blog and link up with Carla’s or answer the questions in the comments section.  I love to see what is going on your lives!


What are you…

Reading?  Nothing currently.  I have been enjoying some brain downtime since ending my classes and getting out of school.  My next session of classes start on June 4th, so I am running out of time to just relax completely.

Watching?  Nothing.  I have not had the TV on at all today.  Hubs will be home soon, so I am sure we will find something to watch.

Listening to?  Again, nothing.  Rose occasionally barks (what’s new?).  But besides that, I am enjoying the peace and quiet.


Cooking/Baking?  Nothing.  I did really well this past week with making dinners at home, but since we are going out of town tomorrow, there really isn’t much to eat in the house.  I have a gift card to Sonic, so that is what we are getting for dinner tonight.  I haven’t had it in a while, so I am looking forward to some unhealthy eating.


Happy you accomplished this week?  Cleaning!!  My kitchen is cleaned, the laundry is done, the stairs and living room are vacuumed!  It looks like a whole new house!  I love that we will be coming back to a nice, clean house when we get back from Chicago.  I even put away clean dishes this morning, and put dirty ones in the dishwasher so there won’t be yucky dishes on the counter when we come home.  Yay!


Looking forward to next week?  Our trip to Chicago!  Mainly seeing family, including our new baby nephew!  Baby Trevor was born last night at 10:29.  He weighed 9 lbs 5 oz, which is a pretty good sized baby… I am hoping for a 7 pounder when my time comes.  He and mom are doing great!  I can’t wait to snap some pictures of him… I have a long list of things to take with me for the photo shoot.  I hope there is enough room in the car for our necessities like clothes.


Thankful for today?  The walk through the fields of flags really touched me.  I am very thankful for the country I live in, and the freedoms I have.  I know none of it would have been possible without the sacrifices made by those who served.  I know this little blurb on my blog isn’t enough to thank them all for what they have done, but deep in my heart I can’t thank them enough.


Now it’s your turn!  Have a great Sunday and for those who don’t have to work tomorrow, enjoy the long weekend!

Photobucket


One thought on “Sunday Night Chit Chat

  1. The photo is beautiful… very serene. 9lb 5oz. baby?! Ouch! My girls were 5lb'ers & that was enough…lol! They were tiny though… 7lbs is a nice weight! 🙂 Hope you have a nice & relaxing day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

