…And We’re Back

We are back from our Chicago trip!  We had a fabulous time meeting our new nephew Trevor and getting to hang out with Hubs’ family.  I am also happy to say that we came in quite under budget.  I had budgeted $785 for the entire trip- the drive to and from, hotel room for one night, sight seeing the first day, food on the road, gas, and anything else that we might want to do while we were there.  We came in at $481!  That means we were $300 under budget!  Woo-hoo!  Much of that is thanks to my mother-in-law and brother-in-law who cooked dinner each night we were there.  Also, we ate cheaper on the road than I expected, and we didn’t have to fill up as much as I had estimated.  We even managed to catch a movie and make a trip to Target to pick up some gifts for the nephews (Trevor has an older half-brother) and a few things for myself.  I got myself a maternity sweater for $9.00 on clearance, which I am super excited about.  Overall it was a fantastic trip!  (Don’t worry, there are some pictures of the sweetie at the end of this post.)

Today I spent about 2 hours getting our budget back on track.  Being sick and exhausted for about 3 months because of this pregnancy really got me off track with everything.  I updated our checkbook… although I cheated and just started from my last pay period.  I also got our budget ready to go for the next couple weeks until I get paid again.  Hubs gets paid next week, so that will help fill up our monthly cash envelopes that have been neglected for 2 months.  I also got the budget ready to go for the next month (June/July).  I am upping our repayment to our credit card which means we should have it wiped out in September!  I can’t wait!  We have been paying about $300/month and will up it to $350/month.  

I know that Mr. Ramsey says that as soon as we have that one knocked out we should snowball that to the next debt.  Well, that’s not how it’s going to work.  The October and November payments of $350 will be immediately put into savings for when I am home with the baby.  I am hoping to be able to pad our savings enough that both Hubs and I will able to stay home until Christmas.  I don’t know how feasible that will be, but we can hope.  In August Hubs has a 3 pay period month, so one of those paychecks will also go straight to savings to help out.


Overall I am happy with how our budget is looking at this point.  I was pretty scared when I sat down and took a look.  Ignorance may be bliss for a while until it’s time to face the facts.  I feel so much better having gotten it all out of the way and down on paper.  Now to just stick to it.  🙂


And now here is what you really came to my site looking for:  baby pictures!  Introducing Trevor!  He was 9 lbs 5 oz when he was born.  He has a full head of hair, chubby cheeks, and is the cutest thing ever (at least he will be until my own baby is born)! 🙂  Enjoy!






Photobucket




3 thoughts on “…And We’re Back

  1. So glad you are feeling better!!! The baby photo's are wonderful I know your SIL will be so happy with them. I have to agree with you to stash some cash before your blessing arrives, they little buggers can cost a ton of money.

  2. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

