19 Week Bump Report

19 Weeks, 2 Days

I really need to start doing my hair before I do these photos.  It was windy and my hair has not been behaving lately.  I am trying to decide if I want to chop it off, or keep it long so I can put it in a ponytail.  If I keep seeing photos like this, I may end up cutting it off.

We had our doctor’s appointment today!  We had the ultrasound, which I would love to share photos, but we don’t have a scanner.  Besides, baby was not cooperating.  It was lying face down most of the time.  We didn’t get a good look at the face, and the ultrasound wasn’t able to see the kidneys well.  Because of that, we have another ultrasound in a month.  Other than that, baby was super active and having a blast kicking at my bladder the whole time.

Here is the official report:

How far along? 19 weeks, 2 days (almost halfway done!)

How big is the baby?  According to our books, the baby is about the size of a large heirloom tomato or mango.  It weighed in today at 11 oz.  Heart rate was 152.

Total weight gain? I almost cried on the scale today.  I am at my heaviest: 118.  I have gained 7 lbs in the past 4 weeks, and this puts my total weight gain at 13 lbs.  The midwife didn’t mention anything about my weight gain, so I am assuming all is well.

Sleep?  Sleep hasn’t been too bad.  I am not supposed to lie on my back, but I wake up often in the middle of the night on my back.  I sleep with a large stuffed dolphin, which helps stabilize my hips and keeps me from rolling onto my tummy.  I am a stomach sleeper, so this has been quite a change for me.  I have had some crazy dreams lately, too!  I had one dream that involved the Russian Mafia.  It was quite scary!

Maternity clothes?  I think I am done shopping for clothes.  I would love to get a pair of jean capris, but I am managing without.  I haven’t needed a bathing suit yet, so I haven’t bought one.  I guess I can just be brave and wear one of my normal two-pieces… I don’t know if everyone wants to see all of this, though.

Best moments of the week?  Well, I loved seeing our little darling today on the big screen.  Even though he/she was uncooperative, it was still fun.  We also did some registering today, which was fun (and exhausting).  We spent about 2-3 hours at Babies ‘R Us, and then I did some online registering at Target.  It was fun, but hard to know how many of each thing to register for and what all we really need.

Food cravings?  No really cravings that I have had to go out and buy, but I have been loving fruit snacks lately!  They are a super easy snack and are delicious!

Food aversions?  Still Pillsbury refrigerated cookies and peanut butter stuff.

Symptoms?  My lower back has been hurting lately.  I think I am just standing and sitting differently, getting used to the large bump in the front.  I have also had a couple dizzy spells.  I have low blood pressure, so I have to watch out when I stand up quickly.  I haven’t ever passed out (talk to my sister about passing out when standing up), but my vision will go black, and I just have to stop for moment.

Exercise?  I went on walks with the dogs on Tuesday and Wednesday morning.  They will continue tomorrow, but it was raining this morning, so we didn’t get our walks in.  I usually do a serious 30 minute walk with Rose, and then Bandit is my cool down walk for about 10-15 minutes.  It works well.

Movement?  I think so.  I think I have felt a couple movements.  My midwife told me that my placenta is in front, so it acts like a pillow and will absorb some of the movements, so it may be a while before I really start feeling a lot.  During the ultrasound we could see that the baby was moving just fine.  We saw kicking (at my bladder), moving arms, opening/closing the mouth, flipping around, everything.  It is an active little one.

Next appointment? July 19th for another ultrasound.  We are still on the 4 week schedule, which seems like forever between appointments.  I am excited to see the baby again, though!

… And that is it!  I feel very much relieved now that I have seen that the baby is doing well and everything looks good.  Hopefully I can scan an ultrasound picture sometime next week, so we can share those with you!

I hope your week is going well!

One thought on “19 Week Bump Report

  1. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

