Judge Not

*This post is a little bit of a rant, and yes, I realize there are people out there going through bigger problems than this, but I just wanted to write about it because it bothers me.*

We are all guilty of it… judging people around us based solely on what we see.  We look at the outside and make a snap judgement.  It is human nature.  We look at their clothing, their size, what they drive, what they have in their grocery carts, etc.  Without knowing anything, we quickly sum them up without knowing anything else.

Lately I feel as though I have been unfairly judged.  For those people who don’t know me IRL or can’t tell from the picture on my About Me page, I look young.  I constantly shock people when I tell them I am 28.  They assume I am just getting ready to go off to college.  Add together looking super young with being 5 months pregnant, and you can imagine the judging I get.  I see the looks I get, especially when I am out and about with just my parents (and it doesn’t help that I live in a super small town).  This makes me very uncomfortable, although there really isn’t much I can do about it.  I really want to make a shirt that says “I am 28, married, and this was planned.” I know I shouldn’t care about what other people think, but I am quite conservative and do not like people thinking I am a pregnant teenager.

Another thing that goes along with this, and I know those people who are older than me will tell me this, is when people tell me I will be so happy when I am older that I look so young.  I have heard this before.  Yes, I have also been told this since I was in high school (looking like I was in middle school), and I have yet to be thankful for it.  I am sure there is a point that I will appreciate it, but so far it’s not the case.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to wake up looking like I am 50 (no offense to those 50 year-olds out there), but I would love to look my age.  I feel that my youthful look and my small stature makes people take me less seriously than my peers.

I am getting ready to start my 6th year of teaching, and although it has gotten easier since my first year, I still feel as though many parents view me less as a professional because my appearance.  I am not that much younger than many of the parents I deal with, but I still feel as though I am seen as someone who doesn’t know much.  As I said, it has definitely gotten easier since my first year, but even this last year I had some parents who tried to go over my head instead of speaking to me about a problem in the classroom.

I know this is a long complaint of a post, but it is just something that I have been dwelling on and though I should get it out.

One thought on “Judge Not

  1. I’ve looked young, too, and I agree that it can be a problem, particularly professionally. Maybe you could ask your hairdresser for a “professional looking” cut? (I know the time that I went to one of those strip mall places and got a teenybopper haircut, I was *not* happy.) Also, those gray hairs that you’ll get after the baby comes will probably help. 🙂

Leave a Reply

