23 Week Bump Report

23 weeks and 2 days

Hubs took this photo before our appointment.  We usually don’t take them until after, but I figured I wanted to look my best… as good as I can look these days when it’s a million degrees outside and I am 5 months pregnant.  Today was probably the 3rd time this entire summer that I did my hair and makeup.

We had yet another ultrasound tech tell us that we had a very active baby.  This makes 2 techs and 2 midwives who have told us the same thing.  The baby was moving the entire time and when the tech was trying to get the heartrate, the baby moved away (which does not seem very unusual for this baby anymore).

Here is our official report:

How far along?  23 weeks and 2 days

How big is the baby?  They did not do a size scan, but did get the heart rate.  It was up again to 163.  Last month it was 152, but it wasn’t as active.

Total weight gain?  20 lbs.  This is not good.  The midwife said I need to start watching my weight gain.  She said it wasn’t bad, but I may want to aim for 0.5 to 1 lb a week.  I need to watch what type of calories I am taking in and what types of food I am eating.  This is going to be hard, since I have never had to watch my weight or what I eat.  Wish me luck!  (I also don’t own a scale, so we may be borrowing one from my parents.)

Sleep?  Not too bad.  I still wake up at least once a night to use the bathroom.  I have been having bad dreams lately… mainly about the first day of school.  I did have one dream a while ago that the baby was a boy.  Don’t know how true that will be, but I guess we will have to wait to find out.

Maternity clothes?  Still rocking the same few that I own.  I did have a friend let me borrow a lot of her clothes, which will be great for the fall and when school is back in session.  I am noticing that some of the maternity clothes that were still a little big when I bought them are now getting more snug in the hips and thighs.  I really don’t want to have to buy more clothes, so let’s hope that I can use what I have for the rest of the pregnancy.  I do need to invest in a new bra or two.  My chest is expanding, and it is getting hard to keep the girls contained in my current bra… I also don’t think I need a push-up bra anymore.

Best moments of the week?  Well, obviously having the ultrasound today was fantastic!  I did get to do a bit of shopping with some teacher friends today, which was fun.  Besides that, I have been trying to just relax and enjoy my last little bit of summer.  I plan to start going back to school to work next week, so I am really down to my last big of complete freedom.

Food cravings?  Waffles with peanut butter and syrup… Also cinnamon rolls.  (This could be part of my weight gain problem.)  Hubs and I have gone through 2 cans of cinnamon rolls each week for a couple weeks now, and the past few days I have been eating a couple waffles for my afternoon snack.  Yeah, this watching my food intake is going to take a lot of work.  I don’t know how people with a lot allergies or health issues do it (Carla, I’m looking at you). 🙂

Food aversions?  I really haven’t had any lately.

Symptoms?  Lower back pain.  I have had a couple Braxton Hicks, but my midwife said not to worry about them unless they get to the point that I can time them out.  Right now I just have one or two a day, and then other days I won’t have any.  They are very random and not painful, but it is crazy to feel your stomach get so hard.  I haven’t had any leg cramps lately.  I did put a bar of Ivory soap under our sheets and besides having to keep Rose away from it, I think it’s working!  (Thanks for the tip, Autumn!)

Exercise?  Well, I did great for about 2 weeks.  Then I quit.  We have been going through a major heat wave (as has most of the US).  By the time I get up around 6:30 or 7:00 in the morning it’s already 85ish F (29 C) degrees.  It is hard to get motivated to go out and walk the dogs.  My friend who is also pregnant has a yoga DVD that she does, and she really enjoys it.  I may have to splurge a bit and order one so I can get some other exercise done.

Movement?  Like crazy!  This child is very active!  I will agree with everyone who says so.  I have been able to see my stomach move a little bit too, which is quite weird looking.  Hubs has gotten the chance to feel the baby and see my stomach move also.  Last night we had a big storm and one crash of thunder scared me out of a sleep.  I could tell as soon as the adrenaline hit the baby because it started moving like crazy too!  Then I had to try and go back to sleep, which wasn’t that easy.

Next appointment?  4 weeks from today.  August 15th.  I am going in for my glucose test, so we will hope that I pass and don’t have gestational diabetes.  I am worried that I will, but we can still hope!

… And there you have it!  I will leave you with a picture of one of our sonogram pictures from today.  What a cutie!

Our sweet little one!

One thought on “23 Week Bump Report

  1. I swear, you are SOOOO super cute pregnant!!! I don’t think 20lbs is too bad… You may gain another 10-15lbs, but you were tiny to begin with, still are!! 😉 As for bras, I’d buy something cheap for now cause you won’t be in it for long & splurge on a couple nice breast feeding bras. (I assume you’re bf’ing?)

Leave a Reply

