27 Week Bump Report

27 Weeks, 1 Day!

I forgot to put my glasses back on for this photo… I don’t wear them ALL the time, and they usually come off when I get home from work.  Also, please excuse the quality of the photo.  It was a self-portrait using a box as my camera stand and the timer.  I had 10 seconds to get down half a flight of stairs, situated, and smile before the camera took the photo. I have fancy clothes on since we had our second day of school today!

How far along?  27 weeks and 1 day!  I started my third and final trimester yesterday.  Woo-hoo!

How big is the baby?  It weighs over 2 pounds and is about 15 inches from head to toe.  They compared the weight to a head of cauliflower or a rutabaga.  (Two items I have never held in my life.)

Total weight gain?  24.6 lbs.  At my last appointment we were a little concerned about having gained 7 lbs in 4 weeks twice in a row.  The midwife told me she wanted me to gain only about 0.5 to 1 lb a week this time around.  I managed to gain 4.6 lbs in 4 weeks.  Not perfect, but better than 7 lbs in 4 weeks!  I am officially tipping the scales at 129.6 lbs.  Scary to think that I will be over 130 next time I go in!

Sleep?  Last night I was so tired that I could have slept through about anything.  The night before, though, the baby was moving like crazy!  The movements are often and strong enough to keep me awake, although they do not not actually wake me up if I am asleep.  I haven’t been having too much trouble sleeping, but when I lie down to sleep, that seems to be the time the baby wants to play around.

Maternity Clothes?  Yup.  I am excited that I have more reasons to wear nicer maternity clothes, though.  I was getting tired of cycling through jean shorts, khaki shorts, and an array of solid colored tops.  Now I get to wear nice clothes for work!  I am also looking forward to cooler weather and being able to wear long sleeves and long pants!

Best Moment of the Week?  We had Meet the Teacher night on Monday and I heard one of my first graders lean over and whisper to her mom, “Is Mrs. L going to have a baby?”  They are so sweet and innocent.  At least she had an idea and didn’t just think I was fat. 🙂

Food Cravings?  I had a really strong craving for Little Caesar’s crazy bread this afternoon, but it wasn’t enough that I ran out and got it.

Food Aversions?  Nothing really.  I think I am pretty much past that at this point.

Symptoms?  Back and hip pain!  I also had swollen ankles a few times this past month (including today).   I have had a few Braxton Hicks contractions, but they are few and far between… they just feel really weird.

Another “symptom” would be crazy hair!  I had heard that your hair will grow and get thicker, but it’s at a point that I don’t know what to do with it.  I feel like it is HUGE!  I naturally have rather voluminous hair, so now that it is thicker I feel like it has taken on a life of its own.  Thank goodness for kind friends who have complimented it lately.  They make me feel much better.

Exercise?  Um, does keeping up with first graders count?  Oh yeah, and walking between the copier and my classroom a million times a day.  I have really done bad with exercising.  There is no excuse, and maybe with the weather getting nicer, I will start taking a (or both) dogs out for a walk when I get home from work.  I am sure they could use it.

I did go shopping for hours one day  a couple weeks ago.  I am sure we walked numerous miles!

Movement? This child just waits until I sit down or lie down to go crazy!  Even while I teach… as soon as I sit down to read a story or take a small break, this baby starts rolling around.  I have noticed that the movements are turning into more rolling and more fluid movements rather than just random thumps.  It is definitely running out of room in there!

Next appointment?  3 weeks!  I will be 30 weeks along, and then we go to 2 week appointments.  I can’t believe we are already at that point!  It is going so fast!
I had the glucose blood draw today and should have results in 24-48 hours.  Hopefully no gestational diabetes!  Keep your fingers crossed!

3 thoughts on “27 Week Bump Report

  1. OK, I know in a previous post you mentioned that someone told you how huge you were. I don’t see it! I think you have a cute belly, and you are fortunate that you still have a slim face and look terrific! Poo poo to them. I think you look awesome!

    I never got to 27 weeks, so no advice from me other than make sure you rest enough.

  2. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

