Miss C’s Birth Story Part 2

When we last left off, I had said that my water had just broken in the pre-labor room…

Once the nurse confirmed that my water had broken, it was time to move to an actual labor/delivery room.  I was made to walk there on my own, which really was not that difficult… just a little uncomfortable trying to keep the opening of my robe closed in the back.  Once I got to the labor/delivery room, they put many hospital bracelets on my wrist.

By this time it was about 5:30.  The contractions were still coming, but the thing that hurt the most was my back.  No matter what I tried, I could not get comfortable in the hospital bed.  I tried lying on each side, sitting up, etc. and nothing helped.  At this point I had a bag of fluid attached to my arm, so I couldn’t really get up and walk around… although I knew that wouldn’t help either.

I labored without drugs until about 7:00.  I remember watching the clock from 6:00 until 7:00 and finally at 7:00 I decided to get an epidural.  I had originally wanted to make it through the entire process without an epidural, but I needed relief.  I had not been comfortable for over a week because of the back pain, and I just wanted something to make me feel better.  I looked at Hubs and wanted him to say it was ok.  He completely supported my decision, and I called the nurse and told her.  I had heard that sometimes it could take hours to get the anesthesiologist there, so I knew I could possibly be waiting for quite a while.  Surprisingly, he showed up by 7:15 and was ready to go.

The anesthesiologist started prepping for the epidural, and Hubs took his place on the opposite side of the room, not looking.   He was standing and facing the tv, but the nurse finally convinced him to sit down.  She kept telling him that she would feel better if he sat down.

Before this, I had texted my mom to bring a few things to the hospital that we had forgotten at home.  She also grabbed Hubs some dinner so he could make it through the night.  Shortly after the epidural was in, my mom called and said she was at the hospital.  Hubs went down to get all the stuff from her, and he proceeded to eat his dinner in the waiting room. Mom came in and hung out with me for a bit.  My sister eventually came over to the hospital too to see how things were going.  Around 9:00, they left and the nurse and midwife encouraged Hubs and I to get some rest.

The nurse gave me Pitocin around 9:30 since I had been at a 4 for a while and was not progressing.  I was also told to lie on my left side because the baby’s heartrate kept slowing down.  At around 10:00, they gave me some oxygen to try and get Miss C more active.  Hubs told me that this was one of the scariest things for him… to see his wife in the hospital bed with the oxygen and hooked up to machines.

At about 11:00, I started feeling pressure to push.  I called the nurse in and she checked me.  I was only at a 9 so I was not allowed to push yet.  This was not a comfortable feeling at all!  I really wanted to push, but I was not far enough along to do so.  I hung out for about 15 more minutes and couldn’t stand it anymore!  I called the nurse again and told her that I couldn’t handle it any longer.  She reluctantly came in and checked me again.  Surprise to her!  I was at 10 cm and ready to go!!  She called the midwife and started prepping to deliver a baby!

The midwife came in and they started counting all the tools and getting the room ready.  This was torture because all I wanted to do was push!  Finally at 11:30, we were ready to roll!  With each contraction I was instructed to push three times.  There isn’t much to say about this except that I only went through 3 or 4 contractions, and she was out!  I only pushed for about 10-20 minutes!  Even the nurse and midwife were impressed with how quickly I was able to get her out, especially since it was my first baby.

When she started crowning, the midwife made a comment about how much hair she had.  She said that she hoped it was a girl because she wouldn’t want all this hair wasted on a boy.  When she finally came out, the nurse had to tell me to open my eyes and take a look.  When the midwife announced it was a girl, I looked at Hubs in disbelief.  This entire pregnancy I was convinced we were having a boy that it was such a shock when we found out it was a girl!

They put Miss C on my chest, and I was just in shock that this little baby was mine.  After a few minutes, they took her to clean her off and complete the APGAR test.  Her temperature and blood sugar were both low, so they had me start breastfeeding immediately.  Talk about jumping into motherhood with both feet!  I had no idea what I was doing, but luckily Miss C was a rock star and did exactly what should!

After about an hour, they moved us to a Mommy/Baby room where we stayed for the remainder of our time in the hospital.  Here are some pictures from that night… It was the most amazing night of my life although a lot of it is such a blur!  I can’t believe how much she has already changed in these short two and a half weeks.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Miss C’s Birth Story Part 2

  1. Ahh, so sweet!!! My 2 kids were drastically different in the way they arrived. So jealous of your 10-20 minute pushing. Cale made me do that for THREE HOURS thank you very much!!!

  2. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

