Miscellanous Updates

As I said yesterday, I would be back today with some other updates.  Here are some miscellaneous things I am sure you are all anxious to know about.

Computer

My computer is going to die soon.  It had a near-death experience earlier this week.  It would not start up and told me there were no bootable devices.  I went through all the tests and my hard drive failed its test.  I left it turned off for a while and decided to try again just for kicks and giggles.  It worked, but I am not holding my breath that it will last much longer.

Hubs and I have talked about what to do, since we don’t have enough money saved for a new laptop yet.  I need a computer so I can edit my photos.  I have a session booked in December, so I can’t go without.  I think we are going to hold off on getting anything while my computer is working.  If it does die for real, then I think we will get a tablet (cheaper than a laptop) and I can put my Photoshop on his laptop and use it when I need to.

Dogs

The dogs are feeling a bit neglected.  (Or so I assume… They haven’t actually told me that.)  Their lives have changed completely since Miss C has come into our lives.  They do not get as many snuggles or as much attention.  They now have to sleep upstairs by themselves since Miss C is in a cradle in our room.  The cradle is very close to the floor, and I don’t feel comfortable having the dogs in there while she is sleeping.

They don’t get to come with us to my parents’ house as often since they can’t both fit in the back seat with the car seat.  That means they don’t get to play with my parents’ dog as often.  

They are not neglected in the fact that they have never missed a meal or been locked up in a kennel for a long period of time.  They still get to go outside and have deck time.  They do get snuggles while Miss C is napping.  They seem to love her, as both dogs have given her kisses before.  We have seen no growling or meanness from them at all.  The transition is honestly going a lot better than I had anticipated.  Yay!

ImageThey do both seem to love all of the blankets that get put on the floor.  The dogs seem to think they belong to them.  Silly dogs!

Classes

I have taken an impromptu month off from doing homework for my Master’s classes.  Everyday I plan on getting some work done, but it hasn’t happened yet.  I really need to get back on top of the assignments.  I had plans to get everything done before I gave birth, but since Miss C came 3 weeks early, that did not happen.  I knew it was going to be hard to get everything done that I wanted, but it is very hard to get motivated to do homework.  

Work

So, I have been so lucky this semester with my student teacher.  In two words: Rock Star!  She is amazing!  She is still student teaching through November 30, and then the best thing ever happens!  She is going to be my long term sub through the end of the semester.  This is fantastic.  Since my student teacher has been with us for so long, I haven’t had to worry about making sub plans or worrying about my class.  She is amazing and has been doing the best job ever!  I am so happy that she will finally get paid for all of her fantastic work!  (In case you don’t know, you don’t get paid for student teaching.  She will get paid for her month of subbing, though!)  I am so happy it all worked out perfectly!

I am excited to get back to my class in January, though.  They haven’t met Miss C because whooping cough has been going around the school like crazy, and I don’t want to risk her getting it.  I hope that it has calmed down enough by the end of December, so I can bring her in once for them to meet her.  They made me a super cute book when she was born, and I know they are very excited to meet her eventually.

 

That’s all of the updates I can think of for now.  I will be back later this week with a finance update and a Miss C update. (We go to the dermatologist tomorrow to get her birthmarks checked out.)

Leave a Reply

