2013 Goals

Where has the time gone?  I can’t believe how long it has been since I last blogged…  I also can’t believe that my baby girl is 2 months old already!  Time is just going too fast!  I have been working on how I want to do goals/resolutions this year.  I tend to stick with them for about a month and then they die a sad, slow death.  I think that this year I will focus on living my life based on two words: simplicity and immediacy (I explain this a little later in the post).  I also think that each month I will take on a challenge from other bloggers or will create one myself.  Finally, I will challenge myself to complete a couple of goals for the year.

Two Little Words
First, I will start trying to live my life simplistically.  This includes decluttering my life and trying to avoid taking on too many projects at one time.  I feel like my world is being overtaken by stuff, and I can’t handle it anymore.  I also feel that in this world of social media and constantly being in touch with so many people, there is a huge pressure on people (especially women, and moms more specifically) to accomplish so many things and have a picture-perfect life.  I have tried to do this, and to state it simply: it doesn’t work.

Second, I will try to be more immediate with my life.  This is mainly to combat my procrastinating tendencies.  I have problems with small things such as putting away clothes or dishes.  I need to just get it done immediately instead of letting it go.  I also have lists of things I want to get done, and instead of just starting on it immediately, I put it off and then get frustrated when it doesn’t ever get finished.

January Challenge
Carla is hosting a January decluttering/financial challenge.  This is perfect for me!  My goals are going to be relatively small and hopefully I will be able to complete them instead of looking back at January on February 1st and realizing that I did nothing.

For the decluttering part of this challenge, I plan on going through Miss C’s closet and sorting through everything.  Even though she is just 2 months old, she has a closet full of toys already.  99% of them have been passed down from friends and family.  I have decided that each Christmas we are going to do a one gift in-one gift out rule.  I will go through all of the gifts she received this year and will get rid of something similar that she already has.  For example, if she got a rattle for Christmas, we will get rid of a rattle that she already has.  Same with stuffed animals and other items.

There are a few exceptions to this though:  I will not get rid of clothes on a one-in, one-out basis.  Most of the clothes she received are for her to wear later.  She doesn’t have a ton of clothes right now, so I am not willing to get rid of any yet.  Also, this does not apply to books.  I love books and want Miss C to love books, so we will not get rid of any that she already has.  Finally, this does not apply to consumables.  Those get thrown out as needed.  (We got a big box of diapers and wipes, so we will not be getting rid of any diapers and wipes until they have been used.)

Part of me hopes that I will be able to get rid of even more than what we received.  We don’t need a lot and the less we have, the cleaner things seem to appear.

For the financial part of this challenge, I am going to try and put $750 into my maternity leave savings account and $400 into our regular savings account.  I also want to challenge myself to actually stick to my budget and not go over.  Hubs is back to a regular-hour schedule and will be home for dinners now.  This makes the temptation of eating out a little bit easier to ignore.

*I will create a page on the blog to help you keep up with my challenges and progress*

Yearly Goals
Financial Goals
*Open Miss C’s 529 college savings plan
*Save $3,000 by July 1st for maternity leave
*Make $2,500 from my photography business
*Save $3,000 from July 1st to the end of the year for a car down payment

Health Goals
*Get weight down to 110 lbs
*Run 100 miles total
*Walk 100 miles total (This will probably come before the running)

Relationship
*Date night at least once a month

That is all I can think of right now.   I am sure there will be more goals each month or even each week, but these are the main ones.  How are your resolutions looking for next year?

One thought on “2013 Goals

  1. Pingback: 2012 in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

