Spendy Saturday

20131223_104150

Today was definitely not a no-spend day, but I expected it.  Saturday is typically my errand day.  I like to get up early and head out before all the weekend crowds.  I highly dislike shopping on the weekends if I can’t get out early.  I also highly dislike shopping after work, as I am usually tired and hungry which does not make for a good combination for shopping.

Here is a break down of all the moolah that was spent today:

$114.05 for groceries.  I was over by $14.05, but had the cash available to cover for it.  I had to buy a few items which are not weekly expenses: vitamins, deodorant, salad dressing, mayonnaise, etc.  Those types of purchases seem to all happen at once and drive up the total quickly.

$27.54 to fill up my car.  I budget $35 for my fill ups, so I was under budget!

$51.33 for dog food and supplements.  Both of our dogs have skin issues, so we buy an Omega 3 supplement to sprinkle on their food.  This is about $20 a bag, but will last over a month or so.  Used cash out of the dogs’ envelope.

An undisclosed amount at Target for a surprise goody box for someone special (someone who reads this blog occasionally, so I don’t want to say how much I spent).  I have had this money held to the side, so I used cash, and it did not affect our budget at all.  I did buy 1 thing for our daughter while we were at Target.  I found a package of 3 baby forks that we use, so I went ahead and got those since we only have 1 fork for her.

So that is all the spending I did today!  I do want to say that I managed to say no to quite a few temptations throughout the day.  I honestly didn’t have any real temptations at the grocery store, so that wasn’t bad.  I did *almost* buy a dog toy for Rose at Petco.  All of their Christmas toys were 75% off, and I found one that I thought she would really like (it had about 9 squeakers in it).  I held it for a little while, but ended up putting it back.

At Target there were so many temptations! They had so much on clearance!  I saw a couple sweaters that were 30% off that I really liked.  I picked one up and almost put it in the cart, but I knew we didn’t have any money for clothing at this point.  There was also a crib sheet that was adorable and on clearance for 30% off.  I decided that little missy already has 3 crib sheets, and she doesn’t need anymore.  Those are the two main ones that I remember, but I know I browsed the shoes, toddler clothes, and some house decor items.  It was so hard, but I stuck to what I needed there!  Yay for me!

I really feel like I am doing well with my resolutions and sticking to the budget.  Besides not cleaning up last night, I think I have been kicking butt!  We still have not eaten out at all (for dinner) since the beginning of the year.  (Hubs had a breakfast out with friends, but that was a social, special occasion.)  The fact that we have not eaten out for dinner for this long is a miracle.  I am not kidding you.  I think the longest we had ever gone before was about 4 days.  We are expanding our food repertoire, and I am learning that I don’t completely loathe cooking as much as I thought.  Tomorrow I am even going to try a homemade pizza dough!  It involves using yeast, which I am scared of, so hopefully it will turn out ok!  If not, we may be having mac and cheese for dinner. 🙂  Wish me luck!

Some good financial news!  I was able to send $300 to our savings account today!  Between the raise from Hubs’ paycheck earlier this month and staying on budget, we now have put a total of $342 this month into savings!  I did not think this was going to be possible at all!  On Wednesday of this week is my payday and on Friday is Hubs’ payday!  I actually make our budget based on less than we typically bring home.  That way I know our paychecks will always be more than we need, and we can always put the extra into savings.  Since we both got raises, we should be able to put another chunk into savings.  Just a little over $100 to go to reach our January goal of $450 into savings!  I think we may actually be able to pull it off!

How are your financial resolutions going?

4 thoughts on “Spendy Saturday

  1. You’re doing so well, Jessie!! Adding that much to savings already is definitely a BIG step closer to your goal ! 🙂

    It’s hard putting stuff back & passing up good deals, so I think you rocked this week ! Keep it up!!!

    • Thanks! I know in the past, I would have gone ahead and gotten it and said I would take it out of the budget later in the month. It would happen again and eventually I would be so off on my budget. It feels good to be sticking to it!

Leave a Reply

