Sunday Grocery Shopping

I will probably be back on here a few times today to get caught up with all of the posts I missed this week.  I need to do my Thankful Thursday and Friday Financials posts.  But for now I want to tell you about my awesome grocery shopping trip!!

20140216_101733Our stocked pantry.

I came in under budget for the second week in a row!  And I was able to stock up on some things (including meat) this week!  So happy!

Here is the breakdown:

Total on the receipt: $131.72
Total before tax: $120.38
Total on groceries: $84.34 + tax (all food items)
Total on baby items: $20.99 + tax (box of diapers)
Total on household items: $15.05 + tax (tissues, deodorant, shaving cream)

Budget for groceries: $120
Budget for baby items: $50
Budget for household items: $20
(All cash left over from being under budget will be put in the corresponding envelopes.)

Money saved by shopping sales: $18.87
Money saved from e-coupons: $5.40
Money saved from clipped coupons: $13.94

Biggest deals today:

1.)  Diapers.  The diapers were $24.99 for a box of 92.  I had an e-coupon for $1.50 and a clipped coupon for $2.50!  That saved $4.00 off a box of diapers!  I didn’t think the e-coupon was going to work, since I thought it was for a different type of diapers (Swaddlers vs. Baby Dry).  It worked and it let me use my clipped coupon!  Woo-hoo!  This box of diapers will last us a couple weeks, so that’s great!

2.) Laundry Detergent.  I don’t need more laundry detergent, but I had received a coupon from my grocery store for a free bottle of 50 oz. detergent.   I got the Free & Clear bottle so I can use it for Miss C.  The detergent was $3.99, so I saved $3.99!

3.) Frozen chicken.  I typically buy our store brand frozen chicken, but the 3 lb. bags of Tyson frozen chicken were on sale.  They are normally $9.99, but were on sale for $7.99.  There was also an e-coupon for another $1.00 off.  I got 2 more bags of frozen chicken!  Each bag ended up being $6.99! By shopping the sale and using my coupons, I saved $6.00!

Love it!  I am getting better at shopping sales, stocking up, and saving money!  Our deep freezer is stocked full with lots of great food that we will use!  I can’t believe I am actually enjoying grocery shopping somewhat.

I also want to let you know that I bought lots of fresh fruits and veggies as well.  I bought bananas, grapes, broccoli, lettuce, a cucumber, an onion, snow peas, a bag of carrots, and sliced mushrooms.  I am not just buying processed or pre-packaged foods.  I do incorporate fresh fruits and veggies into our meals as well.

Did you find any great deals on your grocery shopping trip this week?

 

Leave a Reply

