Sunday Night Chit-Chat

Today has been a busy and productive day.  I really wanted yesterday to be a productive day, but that did not happen.  Today, though was good.

We went to the grocery store this morning, then out my mom and dad’s.  It was a lovely day, but very windy.  Here is the Little Missy having fun outside.

wpid-IMG_20140330_103021.jpg

She loves running around the yard holding a baseball and golfball.  So cute!

Once we got home, she wanted to be outside more, but I had a lot to do inside.  I did some laundry and started soaking and prepping my produce for the week.  I hate to say this but I end up throwing away a lot of money produce each week because I don’t use it, and it goes bad.  I have decided to give Sunday prepping a try.

wpid-20140330_154220.jpg

Here are the beautiful fruits and veggies after their vinegar/water soak in the sink.  Hidden at the bottom was a cucumber and a green pepper too.  Once everything was rinsed and dried, I started cutting and portioning for the week.  I always want to take fruits and veggies with me to work, but hide behind the excuse that they are never ready, and it takes too long in the morning.  That is no longer an excuse for this week!

wpid-20140330_161818.jpg

Each container has a stalk of celery, a carrot stick, and at least 5 florets of broccoli.  They are all ready to go for this week!  If I want to add some cucumber, I can cut some up quickly in the morning (I think they taste bad after being peeled and chopped for a while).  Now I can just grab a container and go.  I also separated my grapes into serving sizes and put them in ziploc baggies.  The extras of everything were just put into their own containers so they are ready for when I am at home or if Hubs wants any.  I also cut up the celery and carrots for our roast that we will have on Friday.

While I was at it, I was able to cut up everything for our Philly cheesesteaks that we had tonight.  That included a couple mushrooms, half an onion, half a green pepper, and two ribeye steaks.

I felt very productive and am happy to have so much ready to go for this upcoming week!

Now on to the chit-chat.  Carla spent her day unplugged, so she posted early!

What…

Are you reading? Still working on One Thousand Gifts.  I also started reading You’re Already Amazing.  I am a sucker for self-help books, and even though I haven’t read much of this one, I really like it so far!

Are you watching? Caribbean Life.  I didn’t mention it, but last week we got Directv again.  We had some extra wiggle room in our budget, and it is one thing that Hubs has gone without for a few years.  He definitely deserved to get it!  We now have many more things to watch… and it is the reason I was not productive at all yesterday!

Are you looking forward to this week? A new month!  I always love a new month and a new start!  I am also happy that it is April!  April means spring, Easter, and oh so close to the end of the school year!

Lesson did you learn last week? I like tv more than I thought.  I used to be able to go through the entire weekend without watching tv at all.  I realize that I need to just keep it off in the morning or else I could spend all day in front of it (especially now that we have HGTV.)

Was your best moment this past week? Spending a couple bucks could help make someone’s day brighter.  I bought coffee for two different co-workers this week.  One who has been going through some tough stuff, and one who is working so hard on getting her finances in order.  Both of these women are such wonderful friends as well as co-workers.  It made me happy to see them smile.

Is your #1 goal for next week? Coming up with goals for April.  I have never been this close to the end of a month without having goals ready to go.  I also need to get my previous photo shoots edited and galleries sent out.

Best/worst financial decision this past week?  Best: Couponing and shopping sales saved me almost $30 at the grocery store today!  I will try to do a financial update tomorrow with my menu plan.
Worst: Having to readjust our April budget because we were again not as tight with our money this past week as we should have been.  We will be fine and still able to meet our couple of savings goals for the month, but next month will be much tighter than March was.

Recipe is next on your “try” list? Tonight we tried a new recipe, and it was great.  This week I have two new ones in the queue: Skillet Sausage and Potatoes and Cheesy Macaroni with Beef.  I found both recipes on Pinterest and am looking forward to them both!

Now it’s your turn!  Answer the questions in the comments or on your own blog.  Make sure to link up with Carla!

One thought on “Sunday Night Chit-Chat

  1. That’s funny about tv… I rarely watch, it’s a time waster for me. Time I don’t have to waste… lol! You did a great job with the grocery savings, well done! 🙂 I need to rework my April budget as well as our gas prices are going up 28%! *sigh*

Leave a Reply

