Resolution Recap

wpid-20140401_144801.jpg

I haven’t done a recap this month, and to be honest there isn’t much to tell you.  I haven’t been doing well with most goals, so I am definitely feeling pretty bad about things.  I get to a point in the month when I realize that if I haven’t been doing well, that I just want to ignore everything and see if it will disappear.  Unfortunately it doesn’t work that way.  I am halfway through this month, so my goal at this point is to make the second half of my month successful.

So, here is how it looks for the first half of April:

Finances
*Track Spending: I made a tracking notebook, but I haven’t actually written much in it.  I am having a really hard time getting into this habit.  I also haven’t been doing super great with the finances, so I think I avoid writing things down, as to try to put them out of my brain.  Not the best strategy.
*Save $150 for trip to visit family: We have it in savings, but my goal with this was to have it in our checking account ready to go.  I find that if I don’t take money out or put it in the proper accounts immediately, then it get absorbed with other purchases or unexpected spending.  I think this is what happened with this money.  I have about $80 earmarked in the checking account, but if we go over that, then it will come out of our savings.
*Put $75 into Christmas savings fund: Done!  I had this written in my budget to get it done last week, but I finally got it done today.  Our Christmas fund is up to $234.48.  It is going to be so nice come Christmas time and we don’t have to scramble to buy gifts or have money for travel/hotel expenses.

Marriage
*Watch 4 movies with Hubs: We haven’t watched any movies that are on the DVR.  We did sit down and watch a documentary Sunday night about the Boston Marathon Bombing from last year.  It was really good, and it was nice to enjoy the movie and talk with him about it while we watched.  Normally we are both plugged into our computer or phone, so it is a completely non-engaging activity.  Looks like we may be planning a movie night or two later this month!

Family
*Start having weekly family meetings: Nope.  Instead of having a meeting last week, I sent Hubs a long detailed email about our finances.  I know we would be better off if we sat down and discussed finances, our relationship, kids, etc.  I am not sure why we haven’t started.

Health
*No coffee for the month: I have had coffee exactly 3 times.  The first time it was bought for me so it didn’t count.  The second time it was a business meeting, so it was a write-off.  The third time was Sunday while I was grocery shopping alone.  I wanted to treat myself, and I know I shouldn’t have, but it was the first time I had been out of the house by myself (besides going to work) in a long, long time.  It was a nice treat, and I refuse to let myself get upset about it.  Considering I bought coffee 6 out of 7 days the last week of March, I think I have definitely improved.
*4 cups of water: I do great at this goal during the week while I am at work.  I have my large reusable cup and sip constantly.  At home on the weekends I am terrible.  I am usually busy or running errands and never drink enough.  I need to have water with me at all times at home.
*Fruit and Veggie at Lunch: I usually do one or the other.  Yesterday I had veggies in my leftover stir fry, and I brought a banana.  I ended up not eating the banana, but I did eat all the veggies in my stir fry.
*Walk 5 Days: I have walked exactly 0 days.  I have worked outside a few days, so I am not a complete couch potato.  The weather is a bit bipolar at the moment (shorts and short-sleeves on Saturday, snow on Monday).  I need to force myself to go for a walk after work.
*Yoga routine: Nope.  I haven’t even tried.  I am sure I would benefit from it, as my back is constantly sore.

Career
*Mail out license renewal paperwork: I have 2/3 of the paperwork ready to be mailed.  I am waiting on one more item, which I hope to have by the end of this week.  Once that is done, it will be in the mail!  My license expires on June 2, so I should have it all in and renewed in plenty of time!
*Book 2 more photo sessions: I am half way there!  I had a meeting with a client earlier this month (the one when I had coffee).  The meeting brought a wedding!  I am going to be shooting their wedding in October!  I am also in the process of getting another session booked for next month.  It is a cute family of 3!  If that gets in the books soon, then we are good to go!

Recreation
*Finish 2 books: I have read exactly 0 pages towards this goal.  I love reading, but it is not a high priority so I have trouble making time for it.

Home
*Organize junk basket: I finally got the kitchen cleaned on Sunday.  I added junk to the junk basket, so I hope to get it organized this week at some point.  I am not holding my breath on this one.
*Clean up after dinner every night: Sunday night, I did this for the first time this month.  My hope is that I can keep it up for the rest of the month.  I just feel so much more relaxed in the evenings and the mornings when the house is picked up.  Last night while I gave C a bath, Hubs cleaned up the dishes from dinner and got the dishwasher running.  After C’s bath, she and I picked up her toys in the living room.  2 days in a row!

So, there are the goals.  They aren’t pretty, but I hope that I can make the rest of the month much better!

How are your goals going?

Leave a Reply

