Saturday Cents

20131223_104150

I went to the grocery store today, as Miss C and I are heading out of town starting tomorrow.  Hubs will be all alone at home with the two dogs.  I am sure they will have a great time!

I needed to make sure that I had enough at home for Hubs to eat without forcing him to out each day and night.  He had a couple requests (pizza, mac and cheese, etc.)  Luckily I was able to score some good deals! I also spent a bit of my birthday money on a book.  It was $10.50, and I figure I will get some good reading time in these upcoming days.

I plan to go back to the store on Wednesday to get more actual food for meals.  I will start back up with cooking when I return.

Here is a breakdown of my shopping trip.  I went ahead and subtracted the amount I spent on my book, since it was not from our grocery budget.

Total budgeted: $120 (what is leftover is what I will use on Wednesday)
Total spent: $58.70
Paper coupon savings: $6.49
eCoupon savings: $4.50
Mega Event Savings (buy 5 save $5): $5.00
Sales savings: $6.12

Here are some of my best deals:

DiGiorno Frozen Pizza (x5) 
Regular price: $5.99 ($29.95)
Sale price: $4.99 ($24.95)
Mega Event: -$5.00
Total spent: $19.95
Total saved: $10.00

Plum Organic Tot Food Pouches (x2)* 
Price: $1.59 ($3.18)
eCoupon: -$1.50
Total spent: $1.68

Gerber Graduate Tot Food Pouches (x3)* 
Price: $1.53 ($4.59)
eCoupon: -$1.00
Total Spent: $3.59

Dole Squish ‘Ems 
Price: $2.79
Coupon: -$1.00
Total Spent: $1.79

Gillette Deodorant (x2) 
Regular Price: $4.45 ($8.90)
Sale Price: $3.99 ($7.98)
eCoupon: -$2.00
Total Spent: $5.98
Total Saved: $2.92

Dillon’s Brand Laundry Detergent
Regular Price: $5.99
Sale Price: $3.99
Coupon: Free Detergent -$3.99
Total Spent: $0
Total Saved: $5.99

*I typically do not buy these foods, but I had coupons, and they travel well.  We will take them in the car with us on our trip.  

Have you found any great deals this weekend?

3 thoughts on “Saturday Cents

  1. Hey Jessie I hope all is ok, I keep checking back for any updates as I miss reading your blog although I was never a big commenter. Hope you guys are ok.

    • We are fine. Thanks for checking! I am getting ready for the school year to start again and hope to get back on a blogging schedule. I didn’t mean to take a break all summer, but that seems to be what happened. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Year in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

