Menu Plan Monday

menu-plan-monday

And we are back for our weekly installments of Menu Plan Monday.  I have continued making menu plans all summer long, although I have not exactly stuck to them.  We have been eating out a lot, especially these last few weeks.  Luckily for us, we now have a deterrent from eating out: a toddler.  Miss C is just getting to that stage that sitting down at a restaurant is not an option anymore.  She is difficult to keep entertained while we wait for our food, and she is a very finicky eater, with dinner being her most difficult meal.  Anything slower than McDonald’s is out for now. (Which is definitely helpful for the budget.)

I think I am going to start keeping track of how long we go without eating out as a family.  I put that “as a family” on there because Hubs and I are free to spend our MAD money how we choose.  If I want to eat out with friends using my MAD money, then it won’t count against us.  I know there will be some exceptions (like Thursday when I am working late and Hubs is at home with Miss C).  I will leave them some cash so they can go out if they choose.  They can stay in and eat too, but it will be up to him.  I figure I will just come home after work and grab a bowl of cereal or something.  I am not picky.

If I start counting our days from the last time we ate out (and that could include ordering in, drive thru and eat at home, delivery, restaurant, etc.), it has been approximately 3 days.  The last time we had a meal that was not made at home was Thursday, August 7.  Let’s see how long we can go!

Now for the menu this week:

*For those of you who are new, my menus start at the previous Saturday, as I always make my menu on Friday night and shop on Saturday.  I just don’t post them until Monday.

Saturday, August 9: Roasted chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans
Sunday, August 10: Spaghetti, corn
Monday, August 11: Beef tips and egg noodles, green beans
Tuesday, August 12: Pasta Toss, mixed veggies
Wednesday, August 13: Salsa chicken tacos, corn
Thursday, August 14: Late night at work for me, Hubs and Miss C eat out
Friday, August 15: Beef tacos

It’s a pretty simple menu this week, as I will be getting back in the swing of things at work.  I have a feeling that next week will involve a lot of crock pot meals, as I suspect I will be too exhausted to try and put a full meal together.  (Our students don’t start until Monday, August 18.)

What do you have on your menu for this week?

Leave a Reply

