Saturday Cents

ID-100206845

Before I get into this post, I would just like to mention how expensive groceries seem to have gotten over the past year or so.  I increased our grocery budget this week and still went over by about $20.  We did have quite a few toiletries that we had to buy this week, but I still didn’t think I was going to go over the budget.  (I also spent $10.98 for items for my classroom.)  Oh well… hopefully next week we can stay under budget.

I did shop sales and used coupons, but it didn’t help enough.  Between sales and coupons I saved $41.32, which ended up being 22% of my total.  My total balance was $153.07.  I had budgeted $130 for the week.  I just hope we don’t need anything else during the week, as we don’t have any extra cash for groceries at this point, and I really want to get out of the habit of using our debit card.

Here are some of the big deals I got this week:

Multigrain Cheerios
Original Price: $5.19
Sale Price: $3.50
Coupon: -$1.00
Total Spent: $2.50
Total Saved: $2.69

Gillette Antiperspirant (x3)
Original Price: $2.49 ($7.47)
Coupons: -$0.75 (-$2.25)
Total Spent: $5.22
Total Saved: $2.25

Motts Applesauce (x3)
Original Price: $2.69 ($8.07)
Sale Price: $2.29 ($6.87)
Coupons: -$0.80 (-$2.40)
Total Spent: $1.49 ($4.47)
Total Saved: $3.60

Tyson Frozen Chicken Breasts (3 lb bag)
Original Price: $12.99
Sale Price: $8.99
Coupon: -$1.75
Total Spent: $7.24
Total Saved: $5.75

Kroger Brand Frozen Chicken Tenders (3 lb bag)
Original Price: $11.99
Sale Price: $8.99
Coupon: -$1.45
Total Spent: $7.54
Total Saved: $4.45

Yoplait Yogurt
Original Price: $0.60
Sale Price: $0.50
Coupon: -$0.50
Total Spent: $0!
Total Saved: $0.60

So there ya have it!  I also saved about $9.50 on ground beef and a roast.  The roasts are on sale this week, and I will split mine in two in order to get two meals out of it.  There were also some other good sales on items we get often (string cheese, pasta, etc.)

This summer was tough on the budget (due to a complete lack of discipline on my side), and I haven’t updated my sidebars lately at all.  I hope to get back into the swing of things and get our savings back up to where I will feel more comfortable.  Hopefully we can stick to the budget and live frugally for the rest of the year.  It will be tough, but it will be nice to get things back in order.

How did your budget fare over the summer?

3 thoughts on “Saturday Cents

  1. Our budget is still being slaughtered… lol! I’ll pick up the pace in September, but for August, i’m not even tracking. Too much going on and lots of $$ going out. I am happy that i’ve managed to beef up our TFSA and our slush isn’t doing too bad right now. As for groceries, I feel your pain. Crazy expensive! 😦 Roasts here are $20+ so I watch for sales or no roasts.

Leave a Reply

