Hello?

Is anyone out there still?  I know things have been hit or miss lately (or for the past 6 months or so), but I think I am finally back to a normal schedule for our life… at least until the beginning of October when Hubs changes shifts again.

Life has still been chugging along.  I have been overwhelmed, super-stressed, and on the edge… so pretty much the same as always.  Work has been a big part of those feelings.  I love the grade I am teaching now, and I love my class.  But no matter how long you have been teaching, the beginning of the year just seems like so much work.  And by the time it comes around each year, you have forgotten how much work it really is.  I try to get to school an hour early so I can prep for that day.  I also stay late one day a week so I can continue to work on things for the upcoming week.  I think that now that we are getting into a normal routine at school, things will start calming down again.

I have also been struggling with getting in a routine and feeling under control at home.  Hubs has been awesome and has been helping out a lot.  No matter what, though, I just haven’t been able to get on top of things.  I feel like I am treading water, just trying not to drown.

This weekend I have started trying to make more of a schedule for my days.  I have been very productive since I have done this.  Here is a peek at what it looks like:

wpid-20140914_194334.jpg

I found these pages many moons ago on iheartorganizing.blogspot.com.  At the time they were free (I don’t know if they still are or not), and I made a lot of copies (the originals are pretty and colored).  Basically this is the entire week, broken down into 30 minute chunks of time.  It goes from 5:00 AM to 11:00 PM each day.  I do edit mine so that the week starts with Saturday… That way my entire weekend is on one page (the page is actually Sunday through Saturday, but I wanted my weekend clumped together).

This weekend has gone pretty well.  I was behind my schedule on Saturday, but ahead of my schedule today.  A few things don’t get done, but this way I can see what all I do get done! I highlight as I accomplish something.  That way, I can look back at my day and see that I was productive.  I also like the visual reminder that each thing I have planned is really just for 30 minutes.  For instance, I hate doing dishes in the evening, but if I look at my page and see that it is just written in one slot, that means it is just 30 minutes.  I tell myself that if I get it done before the 30 minutes is over, then the rest of that block of time is mine.  This evening I had about 25 extra minutes, so I was able to catch up on a show with Hubs.

One thing I did make sure to add in there is time to blog every evening.  I put it in as a 30 minute activity each evening.  Hopefully this will get me back on track.  I really do miss blogging.

Well, my 30 minutes this evening is almost up.  I have an hour to work on school stuff before bed.  I got a lot done already this afternoon, but there is always school work to be done.

What do you do to keep yourself organized and on task?

7 thoughts on “Hello?

  1. I like it! I have a dry erase board that I use at work, but that is broken into two hour blocks. Most of the work I do on projects requires at least two hours for me to feel like I have made any progress. Right now all of my blocks of time are dedicated to my dissertation. I also have used Excel documents in a similar way that you use your sheet. However, I would color code beforehand for different categories (work, physical activity, time with friends, cleaning, etc.) That way I could see how balanced things were looking for my week. Overall, I think the most important thing is not to get so bogged down on the details of each day that you do not have time to be spontaneous with your time.

    For me it all comes down to being focused on the task at hand and trying not to get distracted by things like Facebook and my sister’s blog post. Now I’m behind schedule!!! 🙂

    • Sorry about that. 🙂
      I like the 30 minute chunks. It seems to allow me more flexibility. If I don’t get something done, I know it is not a task that takes a long time and I can fit it in somewhere else. I also make sure to schedule play time with C so I am just focused on her, as well as walks to the park with her. It is not just filled with chores… there are some fun things in there too. 🙂

  2. Wow! I just lost an entire couple of hours on that website & etsy! Contemplating purchasing a planner but I’m a bit confused by it, would rather just be able to purchase the whole thing instead of printing it out at home but loving your idea so may give that a go first.

    • The daily pages are still freebies! I checked! I don’t like the idea of having to print out and then figure out how to bind the planner either. I like my inexpensive Target planners. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Year in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

