Good Day

ID-100226024

There are not many days that I come home from work and just feel good.  Today was one of those days.  I felt like a rock star at work (which also is not a common occurrence), my house is still clean, we had a home-cooked meal for dinner, things are just going well.  I know that it will not always feel like this, so I am trying to soak it in as long as possible.

Today at school was hectic with starting new small groups, being videotaped for a language arts program I am doing (which I just started yesterday), having a college student come observe, and just all the regular goings-on of a 2nd grade classroom.

One thing that made today awesome was getting a Thank You card from the parent of one of my students.  My job is rather thankless from day to day, and teachers are often taken for granted.  I am not complaining, as I love my job and wouldn’t change it, but I am just stating a fact.  I have been working closely with this child and the parent simply reached out with a handwritten note expressing her thanks for this.  I pinned it up behind my desk so I could see it daily.  It really just warmed my heart and made me feel like I am actually making a difference.

The college student who came to observe today was very nice and had many sweet things to say about what she saw and observed in our classroom.  I really love working with future teachers and getting them excited about their careers!

I know that everything just came together at the right time to make today feel so good.  It wasn’t just one thing, and I know that it can change in an instant.  I know that I won’t get compliments every day.  And I know I won’t get thank you notes every day.  But I need to remember that even on those tough days in the classroom, my job matters.  I am making a difference.

Well, I have about an hour and a half until I am headed to bed.  I have a few things to get done for school tomorrow, and I know that an easy way to start my day off right is to be prepared!

Did you have a good day?

One thought on “Good Day

  1. Pingback: Year in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

