Lazy, Lazy Weekend

ID-10028162

I have been so lazy this weekend, and honestly it has been lovely.  I do not typically describe myself as a lazy person, so my utter lack of motivation to do nothing and not even worry about it is completely unlike me.

The laziness started after a completely horrible day at work on Friday.  As much as I appreciate my principal, I spent way too much time with her on Friday trying to do some problem-solving.  (I was not in trouble, nor is anything with my job in jeopardy… I just was unable to handle some situations on my own and needed her help, support, and advice.)  Once the day was done, I got in my car to leave and promptly burst into tears because of the stress of it all.  I do see myself as a very emotional person, but not at work and not in public situations.  This was not my first time driving home from work in tears, but it has been a long time since it last happened.

Once I got home, I was fried!  I did get some amazing Miss C snuggles and Hubs was super supportive (not to mention he wins the Husband of the Year award.  I came home to a vacuumed house, clean kitchen, and laundry going.  After the day I had, I couldn’t have asked for more.)  We took it easy Friday night and just spent time together as a family.  We had leftovers for dinner, so no cooking for me.  After a rough day, being at home was exactly what I needed to soothe my soul.

Yesterday I got a lot of errands done, but I don’t feel like I did anything really worthwhile around the house. We got groceries early in the morning, then ran a couple of errands before lunch time.  I managed to go to Target without buying anything! (Besides a coffee for me and a snack for munchkin… which was the real reason we went.)  And don’t worry… the coffee and snack came out of my MAD money.  After Target we went to Kohl’s, then stopped at a pet store so Miss C could enjoy some animals.  She even got to pet a ferret! I think it was the highlight of her day!

Once we got home, it was a quick lunch and then down for a nap.  During nap time, I bought a computer (!), balanced our checkbook, and had a little party because we were under budget for the week.  I was able to put some extra money in our savings (which is reflected in the updated sidebar).  By the time I was done with the budget, choosing a computer, and not hyperventilating over spending a large chunk of money all at one time, Miss C was done napping.

We got up, got her changed, then ran to a friend’s house to take care of their dog while they were away for the day.  We finished our busy day with a wonderful, and much needed ice cream date with a very dear friend.  It was another moment that was good for the soul this weekend.  By the time we finished up, picked up some files from a teacher friend, and got home, it was time to start dinner!

Basically, nothing really substantial got done yesterday!  Last weekend I was so busy trying to make sure everything got cleaned and done, and this weekend has been the complete opposite of that!

Today has been a repeat of laziness.  Miss C and I haven’t left the house at all today, and we have just been playing, watching Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, and singing Disney songs.  It has been great!  We do have a birthday party for my nephew this afternoon, and then the fam is eating dinner together.  That will at least get us out and about for a bit.  My laziness is going to come back and bite me around 7:00 though.  Once the munchkin is in bed, I will be doing lesson planning until bed time.  It will be a long evening, but the rest has been much appreciated.

When was the last time you just sat back, relaxed, and enjoyed a day off?

Leave a Reply

