And So It Begins…

ID-100224534

October has been in full swing for almost a week, and it has already been a busy one.  October is almost always the busiest month of the year for me.  A few things that don’t change and make it a busy month: parent-teacher conferences, the end of the first quarter of school, Miss C’s birthday and party, and Halloween.  Things that do change, but still seem to keep October busy: photography schedule, Hubs’ work schedule.  October tends to be my busiest month for photography: it’s beautiful outside, all the leaves are changing, and people want to get holiday photos done.

This is also the time that Hubs changes shifts for work.  Starting tomorrow he will be working evenings: 1:00-9:00 pm each day.  This means I am on my own every evening during the work week.  I am beyond thrilled that he will be off on the weekends, so we get lots of family time (between all of the photography sessions).  I know we will get a routine figured out, but it is going to be rough.  Trying to prep and cook dinner with a toddler underfoot is going to be quite a challenge.

This current weekend was my only free weekend for the month.  Next weekend we are having our family photos done.  The weekend after (10-18) I am shooting a wedding.  The week after that is going to be exhausting: I have parent-teacher conferences two days of the week, I am doing Miss C’s 2 year photos, we are having Miss C’s birthday party, and I am shooting a family session.  Finally the last Friday of the month is Halloween.  (Can I just say how happy I am that Halloween is on a Friday?!?)

Needless to say, I am already tired just looking at my planner.  My mantra this school year has been “One Day at a Time.”  I try not to focus on anything later in the week or think about how busy everything is going to be.  I just want to focus on getting through the current day.  This has helped me from getting too overwhelmed and stressed out.

Honestly I haven’t even thought about goals for the month.   I know Carla is having a budget challenge, and I would like to figure out some goals for us so we can keep our budget down for the month.  Hopefully I will be back later this evening or tomorrow with some goals.

Do you have a busy month coming up?

3 thoughts on “And So It Begins…

  1. October thankfully is not a busy month here… last month was so i’m really hoping this month shapes up to be *calm*… lol! That’s nice that hubby will have weekends off for a while! As for keeping Miss.C busy while you prep dinner, could you put her in her highchair and have her “help” somehow?

    • Miss C is getting some art supplies for her birthday at the end of the month. Once she gets those, she will get to sit in her high chair in the evenings and color while I cook dinner. Until then, she is actually pretty good about bringing some books into the kitchen and sitting on a rug and reading.

  2. Pingback: Year in Review | Confessions of a Resolutionist

Leave a Reply

