Busy Weekend

This weekend started my string of busy weekends.  I do not have a free weekend until November 8th/9th.  This is assuming that I do not get another photo session scheduled for that weekend.  I honestly can’t believe it is half way through October.  I keep feeling like there should be another week in here somewhere, but there isn’t.

At work we are coming up to the end of the first quarter.  This coming Friday we don’t have students, but we have a lot to do for the end of the quarter.  I still don’t feel like I am caught up or can get organized at school, so I am not feeling ready for the end of the quarter.

This weekend I did get a lot of fun time with friends, so that is awesome!  I started Saturday morning with a very dear friend.  We did some antique shopping, garage sale-ing, and other miscellaneous errands.  Here is a photo of some of the goods I ended up with:

wpid-20141011_115545.jpg

I got the child’s rocking chair for $10, the stool for $4, and the boots for $6.  I think that for $20, I walked away with quite a few good deals!  I also got a few other things while we were out, but these were by far, the best deals I got!  Miss C likes the chair, but I think her favorite is actually the stool.  She will put things on the stool and push it around the living room.

Saturday evening we had family photos at my parents’ house.  My sister’s sister-in-law is a fantastic photographer.  We often trade sessions and help each other out.  She got some amazing shots!  I honestly just hope to be half the photographer she is!

Apparently the photos wore out the little munchkin.  She slept in until 9:30 this morning!  That hasn’t happened since… well, ever!  She is usually up at 7:00 every morning.  I had actually scheduled a breakfast date for the two of us at 8:30 this morning.  When I left at 8:00, she was still asleep, so it was just a breakfast date with my friend and me.

The rest of the day today has been pretty laid back.  Once Miss C woke up from her nap, we moved all of her toys into her room.  They had been in our living room, which was driving me crazy!  Even when we cleaned the living room, it still seemed so messy and cluttered.  I couldn’t deal with it anymore.  Now we can see our fireplace hearth, the carpet, and have two clean shelves on the book case.  It is amazing!  The sad part was that I moved the rocker out of C’s room.  It kind of means she has grown up.  We never really used it for her, but the fact that there was a rocker, made the room feel so much more like a nursery.  Now it is actually a toddler/little girl’s room with all of the toys.

This evening while Hubs gave Miss C her bath, I made my first ever apple crisp.  My parents have a few apple trees, so they gave me some baking apples, and my mom gave me her recipe.  I have never actually made one before, but it turned out great!

wpid-20141012_190206.jpg

It is definitely not fancy at all, and I would have loved some vanilla ice cream with it, but it was still delicious just on its own.  It will definitely become a more regular dessert around here, as it is liked by everyone.

Well, I hope to get to bed soon.  I am going to have to do some prep work for my crock pot meal before I leave for work.  I like to leave for work between 6:15 and 6:30.  It is going to be an early morning!

How was your weekend?

2 thoughts on “Busy Weekend

  1. Mmm.. love apple crisp! Looks great! 🙂 I know what you mean about the toys… my living room/dining room is *toy free* area. lol! It’s Thanksgiving weekend here, so tomorrow I have a LOT of cooking ahead of me with family coming over to enjoy the bird! 🙂

Leave a Reply

