Simple Saturday

Today was a pretty simple one, although full of things to do.

I woke up around 5:30 when Hubs got out of the shower.  (He has to be at work by 7:00, and gets there early enough for roll call and to get a little bit of overtime pay!)  I lounged in bed for a while, finishing up my grocery list and going through some coupons.  I didn’t quite get finished by the time the little one woke up at 6:30.  She is an early bird like her mommy.

I got Miss C out of her crib and started on breakfast, while I finished my list and going through coupons.  We left the house around 7:45 to get to the grocery store.  We were at the grocery store longer than I wanted to be because someone insisted on getting out of the cart and helping push.  She is so good at the store and doesn’t grab things when she is not in the cart, so I really don’t mind… it just slows us down a bit.

While I grocery shop, I write down the prices of everything to see if I am going to be over budget.  When I pulled over to the side at the end to add everything up, I found out that I was over budget.  I put back a few things and exchanged a few things for generic brands.  Unfortunately I was still over budget, but not as much as I would have been.  I really didn’t buy anything extra or anything that wasn’t needed.  We had a few cleaning items and a few toiletries that we needed, so that always bumps up the total.  Boo!

I did decide to try a new drink, that I had a coupon for.  It was POM Antioxidant Super Tea: Pomegranate Peach Passion White Tea.  It was $1.99 for a bottle and I had a coupon for $0.50 off.

wpid-img_20150117_112404.jpg

It is delicious!  Unfortunately with a price of $1.99 a bottle, it will definitely be a rare splurge.  I wish I could afford to have one a day, but that just isn’t an option at this point.  I do still have another coupon for $0.50 off another bottle, so I will have to make sure to get another one before it expires.  Yum!

After  the grocery store, we came home and unloaded groceries.  We put them all away and I did a bit of cleaning around the kitchen.  We played a bit, and then it was time for lunch.  I tried a new recipe and it was really good!  They were Quick and Easy Chicken Burritos.  I cut the recipe in half.  I also did not have any cooked chicken, so I used a small can of chicken.  I definitely think it would be better with grilled chicken.  With the can of chicken, it was missing some flavor.  I do think it was a very good, healthy lunch.  I was filled up afterwards, and was happy to still have half an avocado so I could whip up some quick guacamole!

About 30 minutes after lunch Miss C and I went for a run.  This is the second day in a row with a lot of wind and me having to push a stroller during my run.  It was a TOUGH run both days!  I only made it 1.82 miles today.  Not bad, but not great at all!  (I am at 22.58 for the month.)  I don’t think I waited long enough after I ate to go running because I felt very sick by the time I was done.  No good!

After the run, Miss C and I played outside for about 30 minutes until it was time for her nap.  While she napped, I read a couple chapters in my book, and I took a 30 minute nap.  Once I woke up, I showered and got ready for an ice cream date with my dear friend.  I had to wake Miss C up from her nap after 2 hours.  I had to push back our date time because she was sleeping, and she still wasn’t awake in time for the later date.

After eating some yummy TCBY, my friend, Miss C, and I went for a walk.  It was a little chilly with so much wind, but it was a great way to spend the afternoon!

By the time we got home, I had some cleaning in the kitchen to do.  I finished that up, and was so tired that I didn’t feel like cooking dinner.  Hubs agreed to order in pizza.  I feel horrible about spending the money, but I think Hubs is happy that he finally got to eat.  I had no motivation to cook, and if we had waited for motivation to strike, we wouldn’t have eaten until tomorrow.

Overall, today has been fantastic!  I am so happy that tomorrow is not the end of my weekend!  I have many things on my to-do list for the next two days, but I do think I will get them finished.  Once I am finished blogging, though I think I will put Miss C down for bed, and then snuggle on the couch with Hubs and pups and catch up on some DVRed shows.

Sounds perfect to me!

How was your Saturday?

Leave a Reply

