Wonderful Weekend

This weekend has been almost perfect!

First and foremost, I DID IT!!

wpid-20150308_181802.jpg

I ran my first 5K race!  One of my best friends and I ran it together.  I honestly felt like an impostor when I first got there.  There were all these real runners.  They are competitive and ready to run.  I couldn’t believe that I was going to run this race.  Here we are before the race:

wpid-20150307_084523.jpg

It was pretty chilly at this point… maybe 40 or so.  We were trying to stay warm in the sun, but it wasn’t helping much.  Once we got going, though we warmed up nicely.  There was even a nice breeze on the way to the end that helped cool us down a bit.

I am still somewhat in awe that I actually ran in a race.  You must understand: I have never been a runner in my life.  I still don’t feel like I am a runner.  I still struggle to get up and run in the mornings.  The first mile is still the hardest.  I have to convince myself to get my training done.

When I started my running journey back in October, I started with the Couch to 5k program.  If you aren’t familiar with that, it is a 6 week training program that is for non-runners.  The first week you go out 3 days and you run 90 seconds, walk 60 seconds.  You do this for 20 minutes.  I seriously thought I was going to die that first week.  It was the hardest thing for me to do.  After about the 9 week mark, I ditched the Couch to 5k program and just ran.  I usually set a time or distance goal for the workout and attempt to reach that.  I still do that now, whether I run on my treadmill or outside.

Honestly I couldn’t have done this without the support and love of my friends and family.

I am not sure what my favorite part of Saturday was.  Here is a list of the things that are on the list:

*Running the 5k with my dear friend.

*Beating my personal record for a 5k (33 minutes, 23 seconds).

*Having Hubs and Miss C at the finish line with special homemade signs for me.  (They are the signs in the first picture.)

*Coming home to a scavenger hunt set up by Hubs.  It ended with a beautiful note written by Hubs.  Definitely a big highlight!

*Treating myself to some yummy Mexican food for lunch after the race.

*Going to my sister’s house to help out with some pre-moving chores.

*Watching Miss C play with her beloved cousins.

Overall Saturday was pretty awesome!

Today has been a very productive day.  For how great Saturday was, I did not get much done around the house.  I did manage to make a menu and grocery list for the week.

Today I have been super productive!  I do have to say that the lovely pre-spring weather has definitely been a big motivator!  I have had the windows open and have been as busy as a bee today!

Here is what I have gotten done today:

*Went to the grocery store
*Put away groceries and cleaned the kitchen
*About 4 loads of laundry (wash, dry, fold, and put away)
*Emptied the dishwasher, loaded it, and started it
*Clipped some coupons
*Made lunch and dinner for the family
*Lesson planned fort he entire week
*Played outside with the munchkin for a while
*Picked up my bedroom
*Ran to the grocery store a second time to pick up two things for dinner (that I forgot earlier)
*Cleaned up the dishes and whatnot after dinner

So that is how the weekend is going so far!  I do think that my March is off to a better start than my February!

How was your weekend?

Leave a Reply

