Sweet Summer

ID-100206393

I can’t believe it has been over 2 months since I last blogged.  It wasn’t on purpose, but the last quarter of school was a tough one.  The class I had this year had its ups and downs.  I would come home from work absolutely exhausted.  Near the end, there was a lot of other stress with things out of my control.  (Possibility of losing good teachers due to budget cuts.)  In the past two months not much has changed around here.

I am now on summer break and am bound and determined to make this summer a productive one!  I have already gotten a lot done around the house, and have been doing my best to stay on top of regular chores (laundry, picking up, etc.)  I have so many things I want to get done, and I have made mini to-do lists to help keep me on top of everything.

One of the biggest things that has happened in the past two months is that we have paid off our first student loan!  We are now snowballing our payment to the next student loan, which should be killed this fall!  We haven’t been able to put all of our extra money into our debt snowball, but it’s for good reason.  My car is currently 13 years old.  Besides regular maintenance and upkeep, we have never really had to put too much money into it.  Unfortunately we are getting close to the end with it.  My catalytic converter has caused my check engine to go on twice.  It hasn’t caused any problems yet, and the people at Midas said not to worry about it until I start to notice “symptoms”.  I haven’t yet, so no biggie at this point.

I did take my car in for a routine oil change and tire rotation today.  They said I would need new tires soon.  The tires they quoted were almost $500 (for all 4).  That is getting to the point of too much money to put into this car.  We have known for a while that I was going to need a replacement car sooner rather than later.  Once we paid off Hubs’ car, we have been putting $450 aside each month for a down payment on a vehicle for me.  I am hoping to nurse my car through the summer, but would definitely need something new before fall/winter.  We live in an area that typically gets snow and ice in the colder months.  I would not want to risk bald tires come winter.  I hate the thought of taking on new debt, but I do think it’s time for a new (to me) vehicle soon.  My car is a compact car, and I am starting to get to the point of not feeling safe driving around with Miss C in it.  It is very uncomfortable for even the three of us to sit in.  We need something bigger.  If we can hold off until the end of August to buy a vehicle, we will have around $4,000 for a down payment.  With that down payment, we should be able to keep our payment very similar to what we are putting aside each month.  Again, I hate adding new debt, but I do feel some pressure to have a decent car since I am hauling around the munchkin in it quite often.  I guess we will just wait and see when the time comes.

Now that I am done with my school year, I hope to get back to blogging on a regular basis.

Image courtesy of samarttiw at freedigitalphotos.net

Leave a Reply

