Hard Work

e54e4aff69632fb7ca59a5f3668e6cce.jpg

I ran today.  It was hard.  My legs were still sore from Wednesday’s run, but I ran.  I went farther than I did last time, although I am nowhere near what my old mileage was.  I also went faster, although I am nowhere near what my old pace was.  I ran more than I did last time, although I used to not have to stop and walk at all.

There is a lot that is not what it used to be.  I am coming to terms with that.  My physical fitness is not what it used to be.  My life is not what it used to be.  My body is not what it used to be.  Things are much different right now than they were a year ago.  We are still working on finding our new normal around here.  I do know that I want my new normal to have parts of our old normal intertwined… including my running routine.

I am about to do something that scares me so much… I am going to start this journey with a before photo.  We always see the beautiful after photos, but a journey doesn’t just end.  It is a culmination of hard work and determination.  So, without further ado, here are my before photos.  (They were taken today before I went on my run.)

I can’t believe I am putting this out there on the interwebs for everyone to see.  I am almost 6 weeks postpartum.  I know that a lot of people will see this and say that I look fine, but I am not happy with it.  I need some major toning.

I hope that by putting this out there for everyone I will be more motivated to get my rear in gear.  I plan to be back with updates, maybe monthly or so.

Anyone else out there starting a challenge or working on making a big lifestyle change?

Leave a Reply

