Menu Plan Monday

menu-plan-monday

Even in my absence, I have still attempted to create a weekly menu.  It is definitely more difficult to follow through with the meals now that we have a newbie around here.  For instance, today we had some high class frozen pizza for dinner.  I managed to eat mine on the couch while nursing the little nugget.  I am just pretty darn proud of myself that I did not drop any on her.

It has been a slow process getting back into the routine of cooking every night.  The first week of being back from the hospital we were grateful to have multiple families from church bring us meals.  Some were even gracious enough to provide multiple meals that could be frozen.  After that, we had some gift cards from Christmas that helped fund some meals out.  Not the most healthy, but definitely very convenient.  Now we are at the point of just trying to eat in and not spend money on meals.

The worst part is making lunches.  I hate making lunches!  I like lunches to be easy and light.  I don’t want to spend a lot of time making them or feel like we are just eating dinner during the noon hour.  Because of this, they end up not being very healthy. (Mac and cheese, frozen ravioli or pizza, grilled cheese, etc.)  Today we did do leftovers from last night, so that’s good.  But none of us are big fans of leftovers.  I guess we just need to suck it up and deal with it.

I am at the point now that I feel like I make the same meals every week.  I have been sticking to meals that are easy and that I know everyone likes… although after eating them week after week, I don’t know if everyone still likes them.  So, without further ado, here is our menu for the week:

Monday: Roasted chicken, stuffing, potatoes
Tuesday: Crock pot BBQ pork sandwiches
Wednesday: Chicken stir fry
Thursday: Spaghetti
Friday: Tacos
Saturday: Crock pot roast and veggies
Sunday: Crock pot lasagna

Using the crock pot definitely helps during the witching hour.  Dinner can basically be completely done.  All I have to usually worry about are the sides, bread, and drinks.  That way I can deal with a fussy baby.

What is on your menu for the week?  I would love some new meal ideas!

2 thoughts on “Menu Plan Monday

  1. Grilled salmon and asparagus, grilled chicken and steamed veggies, zucchini boats, kimchi soup with rice and tofu, and lettuce wrap burgers with sweet potato fries.

  2. Cooking for 1 Sucks and oh the leftovers. I made crock pot soup on Sunday – frozen chicken breasts, can of corn, can of rotel, can of black bean rinsed, can of green enchilada sauce, box of chicken stock and a brick of cream cheese – dump it all in, let it cook all day and shred the chicken at the end. I had dinner last night on the soup, have 3 dishes put up for lunches or dinners this week and put a larger container in the freezer. I made chili for the Superbowl and thawed one container of that for lunches this week. I have 2 leftover hotdogs to eat and I may do a packaged rice dish with canned chicken in the microwave later this week. I will probably make fajitas this weekend as that will be a good leftover for next week. I don’t have a skillet large enough in temporary housing to cook on the stove so will make in the oven – wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

