Consignment Sale

several assorted color tags

Photo by rawpixel.com on Pexels.com

Ever since Miss C was little, I have visited consignment sales twice a year.  This year is no different, except that it will be first time I go without my mom.  This year I am going with two co-workers. I’m looking to have a good time with them!

One thing I did this year that I have never done before was sell clothes at the consignment sale. When I went through E’s winter clothes at the beginning of spring/summer, I pinned them on hangers. When the consignment sale came around, all I had to do was type up the tags, print them out, and pin them on the clothes! It was easy peasey!

I have two main reasons to sell these things.
1.) Get things out of the house!  We have SO. MUCH. STUFF! I know that once we get the basement done, we will move many things downstairs and it won’t feel as full. But right now the clutter is driving me nuts!!
2.) To make some money! The money is all just fun money. I did not count it in my budget, as I don’t know how much I’ll make.  My goal is $100.  At this sale there is a $10 selling fee that they take it out. Also, you make 65% of your total sales.  It’s not a whole lot, but again, it’s more than I had before.

As of right now I have sold $20 worth of stuff. My actual profit (after the $10 and the percentage taken out), I have made a whopping $6.50.  There are a few items that were Miss C’s, and I told her that if they sell, she will get the money from them.  The consignment sale just started today, and it will go through the weekend. I can check the website and see what has sold, which is super fun!

How are some ways you make a little extra money?

One thought on “Consignment Sale

  1. We have had great success selling items on our local Facebook pages. People are local – no shipping and they pay the price you are asking. Win/Win!

Leave a comment